Police Action in a Small Town

Standard

As I’ve said before, I live in a very small town in the middle of Minnesota. Everyone knows everyone, and everyone is pretty darned nice here. You’d imagine you were fairly safe in your home, on the streets, and at public places. Nothing very big in the world of crime ever takes place here.

Well, a couple of months ago, within the same week, there were two major police actions in our little burg. The first happened at the house next door to some friends of mine. A bunch of law enforcement vehicles showed up, and they heard through the bullhorn, “Come out with your hands up!” Officers were searching all around with flashlights, including IN my friends’ backyard sauna. Needless to say, it raised some concern for them, and for me, since they don’t live far from me. My friends never heard any more about what had gone on there, and it remains a mystery.

Then, just 3 nights later, in my very own neighborhood, right next door, a very similar thing happened. Suddenly, I noticed several law enforcement vehicles parked in the street and the driveway of the house next door. I saw some officers chatting in the driveway, and some neighbors who had gathered across the street to see what was up. I stepped out onto my porch to see if I could hear anything, or find out what was going on. I noticed in the upstairs window of the house next door, there was someone looking around with a flashlight. I decided to investigate further, fearing that someone was on the loose or something.

I put on my shoes and jacket and headed next door, to the group of officers who were chatting away, seemingly unconcerned with the goings on around them. I said, “I live next door. Is there anything I should be concerned about?” Their reply was, “Oh, no, everything’s under control. Nothing to worry about.” Right. 7 or 8 cop cars (probably all we have, plus those from 2 or 3 surrounding communities), and nothing to be worried about. A neighbor called the police to see what was going on, and they told her the same…nothing to worry about. And, as with my friends’ experience, nothing more was ever heard as to what might have happened.

It took me a few days to feel totally safe. I heard through the grapevine that someone was arrested next door, and he was in the attic. This made me worry that someone could be hiding in MY attic (something I’ve always had an unwarranted fear about.) I have no idea if any of that is true, but it made me think that the law enforcement officers should maybe be a little more willing to inform neighbors of any such possibly dangerous situations that occurred in their neighborhoods. It would be nice to know more details, to put my mind at rest, knowing that this was a unique situation, and there are no hardened criminals cruising around looking for hiding places.

One response »

Leave a Reply

