Memories Light the Corners of My Mind

Standard

This weekend I tackled a task I’ve been meaning to do for quite some time. I went through the drawer of old pictures. These pictures represent the bulk of my adult life, ranging from the 70’s, when I was in high school, through the 90’s, when I was entering my 40’s. These are actual printed pictures, that have lived in the photo processing envelopes, with their negatives nestled next to them for all these years. (For those of you youngsters reading this, this is how we documented our lives before the days of selfies, iPhoto, and Instagram.)

I LOVE looking at pictures! Especially from my past. I wanted to see if there were snapshots worth scanning onto the computer to be used and preserved digitally, and to find any pics that might mean something to some of those people in them. It was a daunting task, because I probably have around a hundred envelopes of pictures. But as I opened the envelopes and pulled out the stacks of shiny photos, I found myself transported to the various eras of my existence, and got all caught up in reliving my life, in no particular order.

There were events I remembered, and some I did not. There were people I had forgotten about, and some I can’t remember for the life of me. There were hairdos, and hair don’ts. Wardrobe fails, unflattering poses, and facial expressions I didn’t even know I could make. But no matter the image quality, I realized some important things in this trip down memory lane.

I was once young, and took up way less space. I had nice hair. A LOT of hair. Curly, brown hair. I had a nice tan (or so I used to think.) My teeth were whiter. I had a glowing complexion. I looked better in my clothes (except for the leggings era.) I had a lot of good times. I had a lot of friends. I did crazy, fun things with these friends. And I laughed. A lot.

This made me both happy and sad. Happy that I have had a life with so much fun in it…good times, good friends, good travels, good adventures, and good food. I’ve lived in some great places and have met wonderful people in each place I’ve lived. But also sad that I’m older, and don’t look as thin, tan, or young. That maybe I don’t do as many crazy things, or have as many great adventures. But one thing that has remained the same in my life is that I have fun. If I cruise through my iPhoto pictures from the last ten or so years, I can honestly say I do see just as many smiles, and even a few crazy adventures captured in that digital vault. It turned out to be a great experience, traveling through my life in a day. I’d highly recommend it, if you get the chance.

One response »

Leave a Reply

