It’s Just Not Right!

Standard

(Gentlemen, you might want to sit this one out!)

For the past year or more, I’ve been hearing ads on the radio for a “med-spa” in a town near where I live. Now I’m not a spa person, but I’ve had massages, and can understand the need to pamper yourself and relieve stress. The whole beautification end of things isn’t my cup of tea, but I know there are many women who swear by it. So even though it’s not my cup of tea, I can certainly see a market for it. But, the concept of a “med-spa” takes the spa treatment to the next level.

Medical treatments can be included in the spa experience. And even though I’m not a spa person, and the beautification part doesn’t interest me, I can go so far as to understand that some women are in the market for these services. Chemical peels to take years off of your complexion. Laser treatments to remove hair, or treat varicose veins. Permanent make-up, waxing, and intense pulse light…some to remove skin spots, and some to add color to the skin. And something called “microderm abraision”, which I’m not so sure I want to know more about. To me, it sounds like someone will pelt your face with tiny wads of cement or something! And there are the usual spa treatments…facials, massage, hot stone massage. So far, nothing too crazy, even if some of it seems a bit extreme to me.

But a couple of weeks ago, I noticed a new addition to the radio spots for this med-spa. Ladies, you might want to sit down for this one. Now they are proudly announcing an addition to their staff and services. Are you ready for this? A gynecologist!

Now I don’t know about you, but I can’t think of ANYTHING that a gynecologist has ever done for me that would come ANYWHERE close to being spa-like. Way to ruin a nice, relaxing pampering session! Most women I know find nothing about a visit to the gynecologist very pleasant. Although necessary, it’s certainly not anything like a massage or a facial!

So what do you suppose the strategy was here? While you’re in the shop having your spa day with your gal pals, why not just grab a quick pelvic exam? A rather interesting way to dry your toenails after a pedicure! Couldn’t they have just added a coffee shop for some good talks with your girlfriends? Or maybe just a nice little boutique to shop at for a nice outfit to go with your nice, new clear skin. If you’re there to improve your looks, and fix your imperfections, what on Earth could a gynecologist offer? And for you guys out there, it would be just like having a proctologist move into the barber shop! It’s just not right!

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

