Could I Be An Apple Snob?

Standard

I was a PC user up until about 4 years ago. I had spent many an hour trying to troubleshoot and fix problems with my PC’s over the years. Despite the viruses, worms, and blue screen of death, I was a PC person. For years I had thought it ridiculous to spend a huge amount of money on an Apple product, just to have a sleek aluminum case, and a rich looking operating system. In fact, I admit to looking at Apple’s website, and found it sort of snooty. But, I had used a Mac at work several years ago, and liked it. So when it was time for a new computer, despite my prejudice against the Mac world, I decided to consider switching to an Apple product. I started researching, and I agonized over the decision, but eventually went with a MacBook Pro. It took me a bit of adjusting, but very soon I was thrilled with the ease of using my new Mac. It was sleek, speedy, responsive, and trouble-free. I’ve had it for 4 years now, and still love it. I can’t resist a new gadget, so I also got a shiny iPad about two years ago. Then, last year, when my cell phone contract was ready to expire, I decided to make it a trifecta, since I could then sync all of my devices. So, I switched from an Android to an iPhone, and it suddenly hit me…I could be an Apple Snob.

 

At my former job, I had used a PC laptop up until a couple of years ago, when I was lucky enough to be one of the few at our office who got a MacBook. It was great to have the same computer at work that I was familiar with at home. I recently switched jobs, though, and with the new job, came a new computer. The good news was that I got to pick out a brand new laptop; the bad news is that it had to be a PC. I was skeptical from the get-go, but I didn’t have much choice. I did try to go into it with an open mind, and was at first wowed by the slick look, and the newness of it. This laptop came loaded with Windows 8, which, if you haven’t seen it, is totally different than previous versions of Windows. It’s like a cross between Windows and a smartphone, as far as looks go. But for me, returning to the PC world, as well as adjusting to the new Windows was a little too much. I spent the first week or more swiping and clicking, accidentally pulling up screens I wasn’t familiar with, and not knowing how to get rid of them to get back to what I was working on. The keyboard was awkward, and not what I was used to. And navigating Windows 8 was like reading Chinese to me. The trackpad was unresponsive…I longed to caress my perfectly smooth MacBook trackpad. Yep, I am definitely an Apple Snob.

 

I’ve been using this new computer for about a month now, and I’ve gotten used to most of the features of Windows 8, as well as adjusting to the foreign keyboard and trackpad. When I say I’ve gotten used to it, I don’t mean to say that I LIKE it in any way, shape or form. I’ve already caved and started using an old-fashioned mouse, due to the issues with the trackpad. I’m usually pretty quick navigating pages, and typing, but on this computer, not so much. I’m constantly cursing under my breath at this beast, and spend lots of time deleting typos, and correcting mis-clicks. I come home every night, and get on my Mac, and much like slipping into a warm bath, my brain says, “Ahhhhhh,” as I slip back into familiarity and responsiveness. Yep, most definitely an Apple Snob.  

Leave a Reply

