The Card Party

Standard

Last night I went to a card party with some of my friends. We found ourselves scrounging for decks of cards. Only two of us owned cards. I’m talking about regular decks of playing cards. You know, the kind with 4 suits, 52 cards, and Jokers, right? Discovering the age of the decks I owned, and the fact that some of my friends didn’t even own any decks of cards, I started thinking about card playing.

 

Two of my decks had a graphic of my high school on the front, and I remember buying them when I was in high school. That was many moons ago, but I still have them, in their fuzzy, flocked box that slides open. Our school sold cards because people played cards back then. Even young people knew how to play. We even had a student “lounge” where we would spend our study hall hours playing cards. Crazy Eights, Spades, Hearts…the harmless kinds of card games.

 

As we were playing last night, we started talking about our card-playing histories. All of us played cards as kids with our families, and then with friends, as we grew older. I learned to play poker with my grandma, and remember on my first win (at the ripe old age of around 5) reaching to collect my winning pot, saying, “Come to papa!” because that’s what I’d heard her say. I didn’t understand why all of the adults were laughing so hard at my win. It made for a hilarious story she used to tell everyone as I got older. She also taught us to play Canasta, and my brother and I would play with her for hours. My mom taught me to play solitaire, and I was addicted within minutes. I still have the 150 Ways to Play Soiltaire book I bought from my school book order way back then.

 

Everyone else had their stories of playing various card games with family and friends, and we started to wonder about kids growing up today. Do you think they even know what a deck of cards looks like? You can play all manner of “card” games on your iPad, computer, or phone, but have many of them ever actually had their hands on a deck of REAL cards? Do they have time to play card games? There is so much for them to do these days…watch YouTube videos, text their friends who are in the same room as they are, cruise Facebook, send Snapchats to each other, snap selfies. I really doubt Spoons or Bridge is “in the cards” for any of today’s kids. But I will hang onto my flocked box of cards for the next opportunity to play a round of Tic, and be glad that I still have the skills to play engaging card games with friends, where we actually touch the cards. 

One response »

Leave a Reply

